Registering Your Vehicle When Moving to Maryland

When you move to a new state, one of the first things you’ll need to do is register your vehicle. In Maryland, you have 60 days to register your vehicle after declaring residency. Maryland vehicle registration may seem long and confusing at first, but it’s not as complicated as you may think. As long as you have the right documentation and information, you’ll have your car or motorcycle can quickly be registered for Maryland use.

Maryland Vehicle Registration requires insurance verification

What Do You Need for Maryland Vehicle Registration?

When getting your car registration in a new state, you’ll need to prove ownership, safety, and insurance. If you can’t provide the proper documents, then you may not be able to register your vehicle. And driving with a Maryland license without a properly registered vehicle could lead to tickets and fines. Here’s everything you’ll need when you go to register your vehicle:

Proof of Ownership

You can’t register a car or motorcycle that doesn’t belong to you. You’ll need to make sure you have the title of the vehicle in your name and have the certificate available. Many titles these days are often electronic, but if you have a paper title from an older car, you may need to find the right certificate. You’ll also need to prove that you are a Maryland resident through your Maryland driver’s license.

Safety and Inspections

Maryland requires all vehicles to pass specific safety inspections and other tests. The main inspections you’ll need are the official Maryland Safety Inspection certificate and the Odometer Disclosure Statement. These prove that your vehicle is safe and has an accurate mileage record. Some vehicles, particularly older ones, may also need a Maryland Emissions Inspection Certificate.

Proof of Insurance

Maryland law requires all drivers to have a minimum level of insurance before driving on public roads. When moving to a new state, you’ll likely need to get new car insurance as well. Because each state has its own rules and regulations, you’ll need to find a Maryland insurance company to provide the proper coverage for your vehicle. Driving without insurance can lead to serious penalties, including license or registration suspension. To register your vehicle in Maryland, you’ll need a minimum insurance coverage of $30,000 for bodily injury per person, $60,000 for bodily injury for two or more people, and $15,000 for property damage.

If you don’t have the proper insurance coverage, registering your vehicle in Maryland could be a challenge. At Roadway Auto, we strive to help new and existing Maryland residents get the coverage they need for vehicle registration. Call us today at 301.476.1183 or schedule an appointment online to get your MAIF insurance quote today.


Roadway Auto Insurance

301.476.1183