Maryland Car Insurance Laws
As of January 1, 2011, the state of Maryland requires drivers to have a minimum coverage of 30/60/15:
- $30,000 for bodily injury per person
- $60,000 for bodily injury for two or more people
- $15,000 for property damage
How much insurance do I need?
Roadway Insurance providers are car insurance experts, specially trained to help you choose the coverage to best suit your needs. We offer a variety of My MD Auto policies to Maryland and DC drivers with different types of coverage.
Roadway Auto offers discount car insurance even if you have a less-than-perfect driving record. Roadway Auto has you covered for drivers who need My MD Auto (MAIF) insurance.
Auto Liability Insurance
Each state requires a minimum of auto liability insurance. Maryland car insurance laws require 30/60/15. Liability protects you from damage you do to others, including bodily injury or property damage. Liability car insurance also covers legal fees when needed.
- ‘Bodily injury liability’ pays for medical expenses, pain and suffering, and lost wages.
- ‘Property damage liability’ pays to repair or replace the damaged property.
Comprehensive Auto Insurance Coverage
Maryland car insurance law does not require comprehensive auto insurance coverage. However, many drivers benefit from this added coverage.
Comprehensive auto insurance protects you from incidents that are not caused by a collision or vehicle rollover, including:
- Natural Disaster
When needed, comprehensive auto insurance will pay you the actual cash value of the vehicle, less your deductible. Remember, the higher your deductible, the lower the price of your car insurance, and the lower the deductible, the more expensive the car insurance.
Collision Auto Coverage
Collision auto insurance pays for damages to your vehicle because of at-fault accidents. Collision coverage may pay for the vehicle repair, or if the vehicle is a total loss, collision coverage will pay the actual cash value of the vehicle less the deductible.
Full Coverage combines liability, comprehensive, and collision auto insurance.
FR–19 and SR–22
Roadway Insurance can help you with your FR–19 and SR–22 needs.
- An FR–19 is a Maryland Insurance Certificate required when registering or renewing a vehicle. This certificate ensures that you meet the minimum vehicle liability requirements.
- An SR–22, also known as a Certificate of Financial Responsibility (CFR), is a certificate mandated by the state of Maryland to verify that you have auto insurance liability coverage. A CFR is usually required by state mandate for specific driving-related violations such as DUI conviction, reckless driving, and accidents caused by uninsured drivers.
Maryland Auto Insurance Requirements FAQs
Knowing the exact coverage you need for your vehicles in Maryland is important. Learn more by reading the answers to these frequently asked questions.
Is it illegal to drive without insurance in Maryland?
Yes. You face a misdemeanor if you’re caught driving without insurance. Not only will you have to pay the required fines, but you may also have to give up your license or do some jail time.
Does car insurance follow the car or the driver in Maryland?
It follows the car. If your friend doesn’t have auto insurance and wrecks your car while driving it, your policy would still cover the car. However, there are stipulations and other ways that you can be penalized.
Is Maryland a no-fault state?
No, Maryland is not a no-fault state. Drivers have to buy personal injury protection insurance and make their claim under PIP coverage with their insurer. All insurance agencies in Maryland are required by law to offer PIP insurance, but drivers can waive the coverage.
Can I insure a car that’s not in my name in Maryland?
Not all insurance agencies in Maryland offer non-owner insurance policies. Those that do can’t provide quotes over the internet. You have to call an insurance agency and talk to an agent directly to determine if they can provide those policies.
What happens if a friend drives my car and gets into an accident in Maryland?
Car insurance generally ties to the car instead of the specific driver. If your friend has permission to drive the car and gets in an accident, your insurance should cover it. However, if the car is found to have been stolen and gets in a crash, the policy won’t cover them.
Do insurance rates in Maryland go up if I get in a no-fault accident?
The only time your insurance rate should go up after an accident is if you’re found to be at fault and identified. If you aren’t found to be at fault, your insurance shouldn’t go up after the incident.