If you live in Maryland and drive on any Maryland roadway, you must meet certain auto insurance requirements. The minimum coverage, as of January 1, 2011, adds up to:
* $60,000 two or more people bodily injury
* $15,000 property damageAuto insurance in Maryland provides liability as well as uninsured motorist and personal injury protection. Liability covers the injuries you cause to another person or another person’s property through your driving negligence. A member of your family who lives in your home or a person who drives your car with your permission may also be covered. Uninsured motorist coverage kicks in for bodily injury or property damage caused by a driver in an uninsured vehicle. An additional premium can give you extra coverage.An added safeguard is personal injury protection, also known as PIP, which will may medical bills up to $2,5000 per person for you and any passengers injured in an accident that is covered by your policy. Payment is made regardless of who caused the accident.If you have an outstanding loan on our car in the State of Maryland, you might also carry:
* Collision coverage. If your car hits another car or object, your repairs
will be covered, but if the car is a total loss, the cash value of the
car minus the deductible will be paid.
* Comprehensive coverage. Although not required, it may be beneficial to cover
damage from fire, animals, theft, or other causes.
Other types of auto insurance available in Maryland include:
* Rental fees, which pay up to $15 a day if your own car is damaged
* Towing fees, which pay $75 of the costs if your car breaks down
Under Maryland auto insurance laws, you are considered totally covered if you carry liability, collision, and comprehensive insurance. For more on MD requirements, please visit Maryland insurance requirements.